Molly Olney-Zide
University of Delaware Library
mollyoz@udel.edu
(302) 831-0196

Are you interested in promoting UDLib/SEARCH use at your school?  
Share the newly created program video to learn how Delaware educators and administrators use UDLib/SEARCH resources!

• Black History (House Bill 198)
• Holocaust and Genocide Studies (House Bill 318)
• Native American History
• Primary Sources
• Content Based on Reading Level

Please contact me if you would like to request a free online training session for yourself or the educators at your school. We can discuss the ways that UDLib/SEARCH databases help educators create lesson plans that align with DOE standards and integrate with Schoology and Google Drive.  

Training sessions can be conducted in person at your school or online via Zoom.

As many of you know, UDLib/SEARCH is a state-funded program that provides online research databases to all Delaware public school educators and students. While you are settling into the new school year, I’d like to remind you that, as the Elementary School UDLib/SEARCH Coordinator, I am eager to support you and your students. The program delivers databases that provide hundreds of eBooks as well as a variety of educational videos, images, and audio files. You also have access to thousands of current events articles and historical primary source documents. In addition, UDLib/SEARCH includes encyclopedias, such as Britannica and World Book, in English and in Spanish.

UDLib/SEARCH provides content for all core subject areas at all reading levels from K-12, and the read-aloud feature in most databases allows articles to be read to students with just one click. Database permalinks allow content to be easily integrated into Schoology. 

Fall 2025 Changes to Elementary School Support

For those of your who have taken advantage of UDLib/SEARCH resources and training sessions for many years, you are likely familiar with both Molly Olney-Zide and Kaitlyn Tanis as your UDLib/SEARCH Elementary School Coordinators. While Kaitlyn will continue supporting the program as a UDLib/SEARCH Coordinator, her role is shifting to provide valuable website and technical support for the program. Molly will be your main Elementary School contact starting this fall, so please reach out to her with any program questions or training requests. Kaitlyn will continue supporting Molly and Dianna McKellar (Middle and High School Coordinator) for training and professional development events!

If you would like UDLib/SEARCH Coordinators to present at any of your school district events or meet with educators at your school to discuss ways that UDLib/SEARCH can support your teachers and students, please contact us.  Recent program activity includes the following:

• Program Coordinators presented information about HB 198 for the Black History Education Workgroup in January.
• Program Coordinators presented information about teaching Holocaust and genocide history at the Caesar Rodney T3 Expo in February.
• Program Coordinators gave a presentation entitled STEM Resources & Safely Engaging Online for the Brandywine School District in March.
• Program Coordinators presented sessions covering various aspects of 6th, 7th, and 8th grade social studies for the Appoquinimink School District in March.
• Program Coordinators gave presentations covering a range of subject areas supported by UDLib/SEARCH during sessions at Providence Creek Academy in March.
• Program Coordinators gave a presentation about the newly created UDLib/SEARCH Digital Literacy Research Guide at the Festival of Words in April of 2025.
• Program Coordinators gave presentations about the Digital Literacy Research Guide, including updated content concerning AI, at the DOE statewide PD day in October.

Explore the newly updated Digital Literacy: Evaluating Electronic Sources and Safely Engaging Online Research Guide!  This guide focuses on several facets of digital literacy such as evaluating online resources, fact checking, evaluating images and videos, understanding and effectively using search engines, various aspects of AI, and safely and appropriately interacting online.  It also includes lesson plans and activities that allow students to test their knowledge! While much of the information is written at a higher level and intended for middle and high school students and educators, there are many valuable tips and elementary-level articles that can be shared directly with your students.

There are a couple of minor changes that you will see with Capstone's PebbleGo (K-2nd) and PebbleGo Next (3rd-5th) databases the next time you log in. 

Search Enhancement

• The magnifying glass icon for search is being replaced by a standard search box (as seen in the screenshot below).
• This field returns matches of article titles.
• A new "more results" button will display additional tagged content related to the search but not a direct title match.

Interface Change

• The small PebbleGo and PebbleGo Next toggle buttons that previously appeared in the top center of the PebbleGo header were removed.
• You can click on the house/home icon at the top of the page to toggle between the two levels of the database (see screenshot below).

Gale Presents: Peterson’s Test and Career Prep has a new look and feel―and an improved user experience.

Greater Access to Valuable Tools
Gale Presents: Peterson’s Test and Career Prep will now support Spanish language learners by adding the ability to translate the site into Spanish. To support easier reading, the new platform will include increased contrast.

Easier Navagation
The enhanced experience allows users to find what they’re looking for more quickly. The experience will include search assist, which will auto-complete suggested search results for the user so they will be able to better find what they’re looking for―especially when navigating all the acronyms that tests have.