How To Guides: National History Day Resources: Resources

Visiting the University of Delaware

The University of Delaware Libraries, Museums and Press is open to the public! Anyone of any age can come in and use our resources, both print and electronic! If you are not affiliated with UD, we do ask visitors 18 years and older to present a government issued ID at the gates.

For more information, visit our guide "School Visits to UD Library."

School Visits to UD Library
by Erin Daix Last Updated Apr 25, 2024 108 views this year

Chronicling America Tutorial

UD/Lib SEARCH Databases

In Context: World History This link opens in a new window
All Gale databases have a variety of sources listed (i.e. books, articles, etc.), but the history specific ones have primary sources in addition to the other content. Has a National History Day topic page!
In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
All Gale databases have a variety of sources listed (i.e. books, articles, etc.), but the history specific ones have primary sources in addition to the other content. Has a National History Day topic page!
In Context: Biography
All Gale databases have a variety of sources listed (i.e. books, articles, etc.), but the history specific ones have primary sources in addition to the other content.

Free Primary Source Collections

Chronicling America
A free to use database that digitizes newspapers from across the country. By using Chronicling America, students are eligible for a prize through the state-level National History Day. See the video in the left-hand column that shows how to search and navigate the database.
Documenting the American South
This database presents primary source materials documenting the cultural history of the American South from the viewpoint of Southerners. It offers diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles on slavery and regional literature drawn from the Southern holdings of the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Academic Affairs Library.
DPLA National History Day
Digital Public Library of America has a resource page for NHD that provides primary source sets. DPLA also has a large amount of free accessible collections that are digitized from smaller institutions.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Books that are in the public domain can be found in Hathi Trust.
History and Politics Out Loud
A collection of audio materials capturing significant political and historical events and personalities of the 20th century. Speakers include Winston Churchill, Franklin Roosevelt, Lyndon Johnson, Martin Luther King, Richard Nixon, and others.
Library of Congress- Digitized Collections
National Archives- DocsTeach
This provides teacher resources for specific documents that are housed in the National Archives, but there is a larger collection of digitized documents that can be used.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
NYPL has a strong collection of digitized maps, documents, and photographs that are freely accessible. It's a great digital resource for students!
Vincent Voice Library
The online sampler of recorded utterances of over 50,000 individuals features RealAudio and MP3 recordings of Grover Cleveland, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, Woodrow Wilson, Big Ben, Edwin Booth, Kenneth Landfrey, Florence Nightingale, and Will Rogers.