Skip to main content
UDLib/SEARCH

UDLib/SEARCH

A state-funded collaboration between the Delaware Department of Education and the University of Delaware Library providing online magazines, journals, encyclopedias and training for all Delaware K-12 public schools

Content Based on Reading Level: Home

Identifies databases that allow searching by reading level

Searching by Reading Lexile

All of the SIRS databases and many of the Gale databases allow for searching by Reading Lexile.  You must be on the advanced search screen to limit search results to a certain lexile range.

Gale Lexile Table

Grade Lexile Range
1 200-400
2 300-500
3 500-700
4 650-850
5 750-950
6 850-1050
7 950-1075
8 1000-1100
9 1050-1150
10 1100-1200
11 & 12 1100-1300

Obtaining Search Results by Reading Level

All of the databases in the "Searching by Reading Lexile" box in the left column allow you to limit search results by reading levels such as basic, intermediate, and advanced, by grade level, or by reading lexile.  To limit search results by reading level, you must use the advance search screen of each database. 

 

Sorting Search Results by Reading Lexile or Reading Level:

The databases listed in the "Searching by Reading Lexile" box also allow you to sort results by reading level if you have completed a search without having selected a reading level prior to entering your search terms.   For instance, in the SIRS databases, the sort option allows you to sort by lexiles from low to high or high to low.  The sort option in the Gale databases allows you to sort by "Content Level."

 

The following icons are used to identify reading levels in the Gale databases.

 

Gale Databases Gale Icons for Reading Categories

Biography in Context

Kids InfoBits

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Research in Context

Science in Context

Student Resources in Context

U.S. History in Context

World History in Context

Basic
Intermediate
Advanced

 


 

SIRS Discoverer has an advanced search screen that allows users to search for content by grade level or lexile range.

The advanced search screen of SIRS Knowledge Source allows users to search by lexile, but not by grade level.

Early Readers

PebbleGo databases allow early readers to click pictures of interest and have brief articles read aloud. The four PebbleGo databases listed below have educational content written at a PreK-2nd grade reading level.

PebbleGo Animals

PebbleGo Biographies

PebbleGo Science

PebbleGo Social Studies

Non-Readers: Learning through Pictures and Games

Britannica Elementary contains the Britannica Learning Zone, which has content for Pre-K-2nd Grade students.  Many of the games and activities require little or no reading.  Most of the directions are read aloud to the students so that they can participate in the activities without assistance.

 

Britannica School Edition includes many learning materials for math.  The matematical content created for Kindergarten, 1st Grade, & 2nd Grade provides activities that students can engage in with little or no reading.

Note: The math games work better in Chrome than Firefox.

 

Contact Us

Sarah Katz, M.L.I.S.
Elementary Schools Coordinator
302-831-6306
sekatz@udel.edu

Dianna McKellar, M.S.L.I.S.
Middle Schools Coordinator
302-831-0790
mckellar@udel.edu

Maisha Carey, M.L.S.
High Schools Coordinator
302-831-6306
maisha@udel.edu

Erin Daix, M.L.S.
Private Schools Coordinator
302-831-6943
daix@udel.edu

Sandra Millard, Ed.D., M.L.S.
Program Director
302-831-2231
skm@udel.edu

Training Sessions