Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UDLib/SEARCH

UDLib/SEARCH

A state-funded collaboration between the Delaware Department of Education and the University of Delaware Library providing online magazines, journals, encyclopedias and training for all Delaware K-12 public schools

Tips on Writing a Research Paper: Home

Links to researching and writing tips found within UDLib/SEARCH databases.

Introduction

This Guide provides links to resources provided by databases within UDLib/SEARCH that discuss, demonstrate, or provide worksheets for research and paper-writing techniques.  These short cuts take you to tutorials and pdfs on such topics as choosing keywords, using a particualr database, developing a paper topic, and properly citing your sources. The Guide provides information for the early grades (K-5) as well as for the upper grades of 6-12.

Basic Research in Databases

Most Databases allow for multiple ways to search for a topic.  You can enter a search term directly, use a subject browse, or use a subject tree or other visual subject arrangement.

Gale databases provide topic trees for their standard databases and a portal-type search by broad subject area in the "In Context" databases. SIRS Databases allow use of specific subject headings or a natural language keyword search. SIRS also allows a topic browse drill-down to locate a particular subject.

Britannica allows a search at each of the three levels of Britannica School Edition. In addition, it allows an advanced search at each level, provides search tips, and allows for a browse both alphabetically and by subject heading.

World Book products allow basic keyword searching, an advanced search, a find by topic feature. World Book Student has a special section on Biography and a Geographical Explore searching feature.

Tips on Writing Papers

Information here is taken from databases that provide tips on creating, organizing, and writing a research report or paper.

ELEMENTARY GRADES:

World Book Graphic Organizers

Kids InfoBits Teacher Tool Box

HIGHER GRADES:

Gale Tools for Getting Started and Wrapping Up

SIRS iThink Tutor

SIRS Mini-Research Paper Guide

SIRS Graphic Organizer

Britannica Writing Study Guides

Contact Us

Elementary Schools Coordinators
Molly Olney-Zide, M.L.I.S.
302-831-0196
mollyoz@udel.edu

Kaitlyn Tanis, M.A, M.L.I.S.
(302) 831-1728
kltanis@udel.edu

Middle and High Schools Coordinator
Dianna McKellar, M.S.L.I.S.
302-831-0790
mckellar@udel.edu

Private Schools Coordinator
Erin Daix, M.L.S.
302-831-6943
daix@udel.edu

Program Director
Erin Daix, M.L.S.
302-831-6943
daix@udel.edu

Training Sessions