All of the SIRS databases and many of the Gale databases allow for searching by Reading Lexile.  You must be on the advanced search screen to limit search results to a certain lexile range.

All of the databases in the "Searching by Reading Lexile" box in the left column allow you to limit search results by reading levels such as basic, intermediate, and advanced, or by reading lexile.  To limit search results by reading level, you must use the advance search screen in each database. 

Sorting Search Results by Reading Lexile or Reading Level:

The databases listed in the "Searching by Reading Lexile" box also allow you to sort results by reading level if you have completed a search without having selected a reading level prior to entering your search terms.   For instance, in the SIRS databases, the sort option allows you to sort by lexiles from low to high or high to low.  The sort option in the Gale databases allows you to sort by "Content Level."

The following icons are used to identify reading levels in the Gale databases. For a more detailed description of the content levels, please read this handout. 

Gale Databases	Gale Content Level Icons for Reading Categories
In Context: Biography In Context: Elementary School In Context: Opposing Viewpoints In Context Middle School In Context: Science Student Resources in Context In Context: U.S. History In Context: World History

Both SIRS Discoverer and SIRS Issues Researcher have an advanced search screen that allows users to search for content by lexile range.

PebbleGo databases allow early readers to click pictures of interest and have brief articles read aloud. The four PebbleGo databases listed below have educational content written at a PreK-2nd grade reading level.

• PebbleGo Animals
• PebbleGo Biographies
• PebbleGo Science
• PebbleGo Social Studies

PebbleGo Next databases have educational content written at the 3rd-5th grade reading level.

• PebbleGo Next Indigenous Peoples' History
• PebbleGo Next Biographies
• PebbleGo Next Science
• PebbleGo Next Social Studies

Articles in Britannica Elementary School, Britannica Middle School, and Britannica High School can be adjusted to fit the needs of your students.  Within Britannica School, level 1 represents articles written at the elementary school reading level, level 2 represents articles written at the middle school level, and level 3 represents articles written at the high school reading level.  Click the appropriate number to adjust the reading level of the article.

Elementary Schools Coordinators
Molly Olney-Zide, M.L.I.S.
302-831-0196
mollyoz@udel.edu

Kaitlyn Tanis, M.A, M.L.I.S.
(302) 831-1728
kltanis@udel.edu

Middle and High Schools Coordinator
Dianna McKellar, M.S.L.I.S.
302-831-0790
mckellar@udel.edu

Private Schools Coordinator
Erin Daix, M.L.S.
302-831-6943
daix@udel.edu

Program Director
Erin Daix, M.L.S.
302-831-6943
daix@udel.edu